Skip to content

Disappointed by Inkheart

October 11, 2008

I also recently finished Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart.

I started reading this one because I thought it was the upcoming book for an adult YA book club hosted by a local, awesome children’s bookstore. I haven’t been to the book club before and turns out the website was sorely out of date. Dang. I love both children’s literature and fantasy so I decided to keep reading it anyway. 

Then, I kept reading to find out what all the fuss was about. I wonder if I didn’t enjoy it because I’m not a kid… but there are other children’s books – including ones I first read as an adult – that I absolutely love. I don’t think I would have especially liked this one when I was young, either. Why? I’m not sure. I didn’t really like any of the characters, and the whole thing felt a bit pretentious. I thought the idea behind the story about a father who can literally read characters out of books was highly original and entertaining, but the delivery just didn’t capture my attention. There was no emotional connection for me. Lost in translation? Who knows. I won’t be reading the rest of the trilogy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

