Skip to content

What’s on your nightstand?

December 23, 2008

What's On Your Nightstand

What books are you reading, or will be reading, during the next month? 

 

 

 

 
The folks over at 5 Minutes for Books have an ongoing community event called “What’s on your nightstand” that happens every fourth Tuesday of the month. A fun way to see what other book bloggers are up to.

Here’s what’s on my nightstand (arranged nicely for the photo) and a little about each:

nightstand


Harry, a History, Melissa Anelli
My most recent book splurge and what I think will be $12.80 well spent. The back cover immediately caught my attention: 

During the brief span of just one decade, hundreds of millions of perfectly ordinary people made history: they became the only ones who would remember what it was like when the Harry Potter saga was still unfinished.

How true! Even if you’re not a huge Harry Potter fan (like me), there’s no denying that HP played and continues to play a hugely important role in the publishing and reading world. This book is written by the webmistress of the Leaky Cauldron (a pretty famous HP site on the internet) who was witness to it all; it also contains commentary from J.K. Rowling’s editors, agents and publicists, which should be extremely interesting. I’m saving this one for the long Christmas ride to Iowa.

Eragon, Christopher Paolini
All I know about this one is that it’s about a dragon, has a cool cover, and should be quick and entertaining and thus perfect for vacation.

Madame Bovary, Gustave Flaubert
I read this one over a month ago but just haven’t taken it off the nightstand yet (because I’m lazy, not because I loved it so much). Yes, it’s a large print edition. Hurray for 25 cent garage sale deals.

The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman
I thought I’d better check this one out after hearing about it so much on the child_lit listserve I’m a part of. A baby escapes a mysterious killer with the help of some ghosts, and grows up in a graveyard learning to walk the boundaries between the living and the dead. Highly original and fun. 

The Book Thief, Markus Zusak
Another YA book that I’d heard a lot about but knew nothing of. I read this one yesterday and LOVED it. It’s a holocaust story narrated by Death and focusing on a young German girl, her best friend Rudy, her foster family, and the Jewish man they hide in their basement. Zusak has a fantastic writing style that is heavy on foreshadowing, speaks volumes in few words, and is filled with descriptions like this:  

When Liesel left that day, she said something with great uneasiness. In translation, two giant words were struggled with, carried on her shoulder, and dropped as a bungling pair at Ilsa Hermann’s feet. They fell off sideways as the girl veered with them and could no longer sustain their weight. Together, they sat on the floor, loud and large and clumsy.

*** TWO GIANT WORDS ***
I’M SORRY 

This is the kind of book where you grow to deeply love the characters without even realizing it and feel a great weight when the book is over and they’re gone. Yes, it’s long (550 pages). Yes, it’s worth it. Yes, you’ll cry.

Hyperion, Dan Simmons
The awful cover of this book immediately makes me categorize it as a trashy and terribly written. But, Boyfriend says it’s one of his favorite sci fi books (and he has good taste) so I’ve promised to read it. It did win the Hugo, after all. I’m only pages into it and find it very frustrating – so far, the author does a great job of setting up an entire new world and not explaining a thing – but I’ve been promised it gets better. Supposedly it’s a sci-fi version of Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, which is intriguing, at least. 

In return for finishing Hyperion, Boyfriend will read one book of my choosing. Any book I want. This is a huge decision! Any suggestions? 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2008 6:52 pm

    You have some great books on there that are on my list to read sometime. Can’t wait to hear what you think.

  2. December 23, 2008 9:17 pm

    Just added Book Thief to my list for next week. 🙂

  3. December 24, 2008 12:20 am

    The Book Thief is on my stack this month too. The Graveyard Book looks interesting.

  4. December 24, 2008 12:39 am

    Wow, picking a book for your boyfriend must be tough! There are so many great books out there. I wouldn’t even know where to begin.

Leave a Reply

