Skip to content

And the winner is…

January 27, 2009

I haven’t posted for some time – life caught up with me – but this is important. Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book won the Newbery! 

graveyardbook

I don’t think I’ve read any of the contenders, but I’m still excited, as I thought The Graveyard Book was wonderful. 

2 things I just learned, while reading the news:

1. Gaiman also wrote Coraline – his first children’s book, actually – which is due as a claymation Tim Burton film on Feb. 6 and looks fantastic. The Graveyard Book is the only book of Gaiman’s that I’ve read, but I’m going to have to check out his other works. 

coraline1

2. The idea for The Graveyard Book was almost 20 years in the making. So, maybe there’s hope for me as a writer yet 🙂 

Have you read The Graveyard Book? What did you think? Is there a different book/s that should have won?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2009 3:18 pm

    Hey! If you like those books and movies, you should check out Pride and Prejudie and Zombies by Seth Grahame-Smith and (who else?!) Jane Austen. If you’re interested, I’ll happily send you a free review copy by mid April. Please email me at quirkzombies@gmail.com!

  2. January 29, 2009 10:39 pm

    I don’t know anything about that book (other than what you mentioned), but I did read some of the Honor books, and loved them — Savvy for one.

Leave a Reply

