Skip to content

Breaking Dawn to become a movie

November 9, 2009

*spoilers*

I don’t know much about clevvertv.com but in August they reported that Breaking Dawn, Stephenie Meyer’s last novel in the Twilight saga, will indeed be made into a film like the first three books, Twilight, New Moon (hitting theaters next week) and Eclipse.

The article says that Melissa Rosenberg, the movie’s screenwriter, hinted that part of the book would be toned down for the movies’ young audience. This is welcome news, as I couldn’t imagine how the sure-to-be tween blockbuster would visually portray scenes such as these:

…large purplish bruises were beginning to blossom across the pale skin of my arm. My eyes followed the trail they made up to my shoulder and then down cross my ribs. I pulled my hand free to poke at a discoloration on my left forearm, watching it fade where I touched and then reappear. […] There was a faint shadow across one of my cheekbones, and my lips were a little swollen […] The rest of me was decorated with patches of blue and purple.
– Bella, post-sex

and

Bella’s body, streaming with red, started to twitch, jerking around in Rosalie’s arms like she was being electrocuted. All the while, her face was blank—unconscious. It was the wild thrashing from inside the center of her body that moved her. As she convulsed, sharp snaps and cracks kept time with the spasms.
– Jacob, describing Bella, who refuses to end the pregnancy that is violently killing her (and who also seems to have never heard of a c-section).

But hey, Bella waited to have sex until marriage, and all life – even that of a half-human fetus who breaks its mother’s spine and will likely chew its way out of her womb – is sacred. So who’s complaining?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

