Skip to content

What I’ve been reading

July 7, 2010

Here’s what I’m reading/read recently:

(apologies for crappy picture quality)

I haven’t started Minders of Make-Believe yet but am looking forward to it. It will undoubtedly take me a bit longer though, as it’s nonfiction.

I’ve been busy reading and not writing lately, and hope to have some thoughts on these – and others from awhile back, i.e. Little Bee – posted soon.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 9:42 pm

    What did you think of “The Help”? I know that it’s all popular and going to be made into a movie, etc. BUT I don’t know .. I’ve also read that it’s an unrealistic portrayal, etc. I think i might just get it from the library rather than spend my limited book buying dollars.

    • July 12, 2010 10:01 pm

      I really enjoyed “The Help.” Of course, with two main characters being black women, in the 1960s, speaking in thick dialect–the book is written by a white woman–it brings up interesting questions on who can/should write what… questions I’m sure I don’t know the answer to.

      I also have a very limited amount of book-buying dollars, but I splurged on this one at Half Price Books (so it was around ~$13) and am glad I did. Thanks for visiting and check back later – hopefully I’ll have a review/thoughts up soon!

      • July 14, 2010 2:01 am

        Glad you enjoyed “The Help”, and that it lived up the hype. I haven’t read it yet, but I’m really interested.

      • August 7, 2010 11:13 pm

        thanks for visiting/commenting! Drop a note if you get a chance to read it – would love to see your review. Mine still isn’t up yet… :/

  2. kimberlyloomis permalink
    July 12, 2010 10:11 pm

    I have not read ANY of those books yet and am intensely curious. “Sarah’s Key”, “The Gurnsey Literary and Potato Peel Society” and “Affinity” foremost amongst them. Can’t wait to read your thoughts on “Little Bee” as well.

  3. July 12, 2010 11:15 pm

    You have some good ones in the pile – Sarah’s Key and The Help were favorites from last year. Enjoy them 😀

  4. July 13, 2010 2:21 am

    I bought Minders of Make Believe, but haven’t gotten to it yet. It sounded good. So maybe I’ll get to it one day. I adored Gurnsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. If you like it too, you should check out 84, Charring Cross Road.

    • July 13, 2010 5:06 pm

      Thanks for visiting! I also loved Gurnsey—. And I’m so glad you commented – I’ve heard about 84, Charring Cross Road and have been meaning to read it for a long time, but I’d completely forgot about it. Seems like we have similar interests 🙂

  5. November 9, 2010 5:47 am

    The Help is my favorite book so far this year!

    • November 9, 2010 9:35 am

      I really liked it, too! Unfortunately I haven’t put up any thoughts about it yet… I’ve been terrible this year about mentioning books I really enjoy and then not posting about them.

Leave a Reply

