Skip to content

Happy Blirthday? Blogiversary?

September 24, 2010

Happy (slighty belated) blogiversity to me! Blirthday? Lyndale Press is two years old!

I started this blog to keep up my non-work writing and to create a space for book reviews and news that I wanted to keep and share. Working in public relations, part of my job involved strategizing with clients on how to run and manage effective blogs. Funny enough, I’ve hardly taken any of my own advice. My blog is still a bit of a mess of anything related to books or publishing, including reviews, recommendations, news, bookish furniture, movie trailers, etc. I’m not very good about leaving comments on other blogs, I rarely use Twitter, and I don’t publicize my blog on Facebook or in my email signature. I don’t post regularly, I don’t follow up on my planned posts, and I’ve changed the layout far too many times. I’m also caught between a line of wanting to be completely anonymous and of wanting to come across as an actual, real person. Only recently have I put up a photo and changed my settings to reveal my name.

Still, I’m proud to have kept it up this long, and I’ve discovered some wonderful blogs and bloggers in the process. Though Lyndale Press is now two years old, I still consider it a “new” blog and myself a newbie blogger. I’ve got a lot to learn and improve upon, and if you have any suggestions or tips, they are welcome!

I’m now back for a second year of school and a new teaching job in addition. Off to the grading I’ve been avoiding…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2010 6:22 am

    Happy birthday, Lyndalepress! I like what you post and, alas, as a newbie blogger myself I have no idea what advice I could possibly impart. Personally, I think it’s just best you keep doing what you’re doing so long as you’re enjoying it. Congratulations on your new job!

    • September 27, 2010 12:45 pm

      Thanks! And that is probably the best advice I could get 🙂

  2. September 26, 2010 4:30 pm

    x Happy Birthday x

  3. September 27, 2010 8:24 am

    First time visitor. I just stopped by to wish you happy blogiversary because mine is tomorrow.

    • September 27, 2010 12:44 pm

      Thanks, Tom! Happy blogiversary to you, too!

Leave a Reply

