Skip to content

What Should I Read?

November 9, 2010

Dear readers, I need your help. I’m putting together an independent study on children’s/young adult literature for next semester, and I get to create my own reading list based solely on what I want to read. There doesn’t need to be a theme (i.e. ‘censorship’ or ’19th-century American children’s literature’), though I am trying to stick with nonfiction – books about children’s literature, publishing, authors, etc. rather than children’s/YA novels themselves.

Below are some readings I’m considering. I’d love to hear your thoughts, especially if you’ve read any of these or know of other books/articles/etc. I should look at. What would you recommend? What have you been meaning to read? If you were creating a list, what would be on yours?

A Family of Readers (Roger Sutton and Martha Parravano, 2010)

Don't Tell the Grownups: Subversive Children's Literature (Alison Lurie, 1990)

Dear Genius: The Letters of Ursula Nordstrom (Leonard Marcus)

Minders of Make-Believe: Idealists, Entrepreneurs, and the Shaping of American Children's Literature (Leonard Marcus, 2008)

The Hidden Adult: Defining Children’s Literature (Perry Nodelman, 2008)

Touch Magic (Jane Yolen, 2007)

From Cover to Cover: Evaluating and Reviewing Children’s Books (revised edition) (Kathleen T. Horner, 2010)

selected Newbery acceptance speeches / other articles from The Horn Book. Suggestions?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2010 11:56 am

    Don’t forget Fair Garden and the Swarm of Beasts by Margaret A. Edwards.
    She was a pioneer in supporting children’s librarianship. It’s a wonderful, inspiring read.

    • November 16, 2010 1:00 pm

      Thanks, Madigan! I’m not familiar with that one but I’ll definitely look into it.

Trackbacks

  1. Spotlight on the Wordpress.Com Book Bloggers! « Randomize ME

Leave a Reply

