Skip to content

♥ Literary Love Quotes ♥

February 14, 2011

Happy Valentine’s Day!

 

image (c) bombaykino on flickr

To celebrate the day, some literary love quotes:

How silver-sweet sound lovers’ tongues by night,
Like softest music to attending ears!
– William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet

Life has taught us that love does not consist in gazing at each other but in looking outward together in the same direction.
– Antoine de Saint-Exupery, The Little Prince

For one human being to love another; that is perhaps the most difficult of our tasks; the ultimate, the last test and proof; the work for which all other work is but preparation.
– Rainer Maria Rilke

All the breath and the bloom of the year in the bag of one bee:
All the wonder and wealth of the mine in the heart of one gem:
In the core of one pearl all the shade and the shine of the sea:
Breath and bloom, shade and shine,–wonder, wealth, and–how far above them–
Truth that’s brighter than gem,
Trust, that’s purer than pearl,–
Brightest truth, purest trust in the universe–all were for me
In the kiss of one girl.
– Robert Browning, Summum Bonum

Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same…
– Emily Brontë, Wuthering Heights

“Do you ever miss him?” she asks me.
“Every day, every minute.”
“Every minute…Yes. It’s that way, isn’t it?”
– Audrey Niffenegger, The Time Traveler’s Wife

“Perhaps we are in this world to search for love, find it and lose it, again and again. With each love, we are born anew, and with each love that ends we collect a new wound. I am covered with proud scars.”

– Isabel Allende, Paula

What are your favorite literary love quotes, poems, stories?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 2:58 pm

    Well actually, the quote from Wuthering Heights is definitely up there. I also like “I say I’m in love with her. What does that mean? It means I review my future and my past in the light of this feeling. It is as though I wrote in a foreign language that I am suddenly able to read. Wordlessly, she explains me to myself. Like genius, she is ignorant of what she does.” from The Passion by Jeanette Winterson.

    • February 14, 2011 9:05 pm

      I don’t know that book, but love the quote! Thanks for visiting and sharing.

  2. May 25, 2011 9:03 am

    Beautiful quotes, Anne. Every time I see Rilke’s words I feel like I should read more of his work. The images are stunning as well. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

