Skip to content

20 (or so) Books for Your Summer Reading List

May 16, 2011

Looking for something to read this summer? Here are some of my go-to recommendations and some others I read this year and really enjoyed. I recommend them all, so don’t judge them by their order in this list, their covers, or their movie tie-ins. Just read them and let me know what you think, or if you have others to recommend!

Little Bee
Chris Cleave

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

The Help
Kathryn Stockett

The Little Stranger
Sarah Waters

Affinity
Sarah Waters

Her Fearful Symmetry
Audrey Niffenegger

The Golden Compass (young adult high fantasy)
Phillip Pullman

Ender’s Game (middle grade/young adult science fiction)
Orson Scott Card

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Stieg Larsson

The House of the Spirits (magical realism)
Isabelle Allende

The Things They Carried
Tim O’Brien

The Road
Cormac McCarthy

Water for Elephants
Sara Gruen

Atonement
Ian McEwan

The Time Traveler’s Wife
Audrey Niffenegger

A Prayer for Owen Meany
John Irving

Peace Like a River
Leif Enger

Gilead (maybe my favorite book ever)
Marilynne Robinson

I’m building my own summer list – what do you recommend?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2011 11:43 am

    Atonement is one of my faves πŸ™‚ Thankfully I read it before I saw the movie – the first time I read it I literally had to read the couple of pages near the end where the “twist” happens 10 times. I was screaming “No!! It cant be!!” – the first time a book ever stunned me like that πŸ™‚

  2. June 2, 2011 4:14 pm

    You’ve got some great reads on this list! There’s a great video of Isabelle Allende talking at a TED conference that you might like. And The Things They Carried is profiled on NPR today.

    Now, I will quibble with The Road … I thought it was lame. Instead, I recommend you consider All The Pretty Horses, Blood Meridian, or Suttree instead.

    I loved Gilead. The first half of Atticus by Ron Hansen is another good prodigal son story. In fact, it’s a better prodigal son fit, but less beautiful as a whole novel. I also think you might like The Maytrees by Annie Dillard. It gives a differnt perspective on love.

    Keep doing great things … and let me know how I can help!

    • June 3, 2011 4:02 am

      Thanks! I loved The Road… But will definitely check out your other recommendations πŸ™‚ I like Annie Dillard but haven’t read The Maytrees, and I haven’t heard of Atticus. I also hadn’t heard about the NPR profile or that TED presentation — thanks for the comment and the heads up!

Leave a Reply

