Skip to content

Traveling with (e)Books

May 17, 2011

My sister and I are off to Italy today!

We’re bringing some books for the long plane and train rides, and venturing into new reading territory… ebooks. I bought a Kindle and filled it with free classics I’ve never read, and we also downloaded some books to read on my mom’s iPad, which we’re borrowing. We’re bringing one paperback and some audiobooks as well. With my new Kindle I get two free books from Audible, so I downloaded this:

My uncle, who travels often and was in Venice this past year, recommended The City of Falling Angels, a nonfiction account of Venice.

I’ll try to send a few picture updates while we’re gone, and when we get back, expect a reading on the road report. How do you read when you travel?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2011 9:17 am

    I love my Kindle for traveling – it makes life so much easier just having one thin “book” πŸ™‚ I still love my regualr books too but when it comes to travel the Kindle is definitely where it’s at! Hope you have fun in Italy – I’m going there in July and am so excited!

    • May 17, 2011 11:08 am

      Thanks for the comment – great to hear you love your Kindle for traveling! I’m excited to use mine. Where are you going in Italy? Have you been there before?

      • May 17, 2011 11:40 am

        I’m going to Pisa, Florence and Siena. I was there “studying” abroad over the summer 6 years ago. We stayed in Siena – which is fabulous, but also visited Rome, Pisa, Florence, San Gimignano, Venice, Assisi, Volterra, Perugia and some other small towns – its amazing and beautiful and I have been wanting to go back SO badly πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      • June 1, 2011 2:35 am

        How fun! Did you, or will you,see the Palio? That looks so interesting! We have been in Florence for a few days and took a day trip to Sienna, San Gimignano, and Pisa yesterday. I hope you have a great trip! I was planning on blogging some from mine but uploading photos has turned out to be rather tricky. Maybe I’ll figure it out in the next couple weeks πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

