Skip to content

What I Read This Summer

September 14, 2011

Getting Things Done
David Allen
(Nonfiction)

I’m always trying to be more organized, and I would recommend this book, even though it’s old (2002, I think) and a lot of it is common sense. But there are some good tricks and tips that I’m taking away from it, and that’s worth it to me.

Freedom
Jonathan Franzen
(Fiction)

Not nearly as good as I expected. Almost tedious to get through at times. And I hate the cover.

Revolution
Jennifer Connolly
(YA Historical Fiction / Fantasy)

Also not as good as I’d expected, from all the buzz I’d heard about it. Good, if you have it lying around. Maybe not worth going out and getting.

When You Reach Me
Rebecca Stead
(Children’s)

Wonderful, surprising story. 2010 Newbery Medal winner.  Great for upper elementary / middle school readers, but I really liked it, too. Draws on Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle in Time — pair these two for young readers.

Heaven is for Real: A Little Boy’s Astounding Story of His Trip to Heaven and Back
Todd Burpo
(Nonfiction / Inspirational)

Just couldn’t quite swallow it. I’m sure the author fully believes his son’s story and has entirely good intentions. But he’s a pastor, so he also has an agenda.

The Name of the Wind
Patrick Rothfuss
(Fantasy)

Going into this without high expectations, I really enjoyed it. I’ve requested the second book in the trilogy through the library.

The Night Watch
Sarah Waters
(Historical fiction)

Liked it, didn’t love it. Shortlisted for the 2006 Man Booker. GLBT relationships.

 

Fingersmith
Sarah Waters
(Gothic Fiction)

Liked this one better, though not as much as The Little Stranger, which many readers prefer. Some good twists, although almost too many — sometimes caught myself anticipating the twists rather than engaging in the story. GLBT.

Cutting for Stone
Abraham Verghese
(Fiction)

Heard great things about this book and was not disappointed. Recommend.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2011 12:18 am

    I found my way to your blog through your comment on The Book Lady’s Blog. I was excited to see someone recommend The Name of the Wind, as it is a new favorite of mine. I recently started a book blog and I’m still working on my format and design so I’ve been searching other blogs out there to get an idea of what I do and do not like. So far I like what I see here….great job!

    ellysbookshelf.blogspot.com

    • December 7, 2011 3:17 pm

      Thanks for the comment! I’ve been really neglecting the blog lately…

Leave a Reply

